We love this jiggly treat since we were kids and we still enjoy a cup or two today! But would you still gobble up an entire platter of Jell-O if you found out that it is made from animal bones, hooves, and connective tissues?
Yes, the gelatin you eat in Jell-O comes from the collagen derived from cow or pig bones, hooves, and connective tissues. These animal parts are ground and then pre-treated with either a strong acid or a strong base to break down cellular structures and release proteins like collagen. After pre-treatment process, the resulting concoction is boiled.
During the heating process, the large collagen protein ends up being partially broken down, and the resulting product is called gelatin. The gelatin is easily extracted because it forms a layer on the surface of the boiling mixture. The extracted gelatin is then processed into powder form. Flavorings are added, packaged and placed in grocery shelves all over the world.